Archives

All posts for the day August 8th, 2017

Magical Roots Day 6: Shielding

Published August 8, 2017 by Lunapo

#30daymagicalroots
A psychic shield is one of the best, strongest, most basic tools any witch of any practice can have. I will never forget when, about three years ago, when my local Rune Guy spoke to his class at Pagan Pride Day about shielding while working with Runes. Up until that point, I had envisioned shields as something different. I can’t really describe what, just different. It was not something I really understood or something I ever did.

That changed over the next few months, after that newly gained insight. Things became very tense at work and I sheilded myself daily to keep myself from drama. I used it in my practices up until I became pregnant with Witchling. (All energy work stopped at that point…I didn’t have enough to use…)

Tonight, in raising a shield, I started as I normally do with grounding. I visualize a yellow, blindingly bright light, very small, floating just within my chest. With each inhale, it grows larger and expands again and again until I am in a carry yellow bubble. At the same time, I am seeing the outer walls of my home growing with thick vines (think Seeping Beauty growth).

Between the two, I am personally guarded and my home is guarded while I am working inside.

A gift in return

Published August 8, 2017 by Lunapo

Over the past few years, I have been gifted feathers by our avian friends every so often. We set out bird feeders to thank them, and in return end up with more feathers. 

This summer, when my mom asked to do a bird feeder craft with the kids, I thought that was the perfect thank you. 

Mom found the recipe for a bird feeder wreath. We made a paste from plain gletatin and flour, then added the bird seed. We placed cranberries I to the bottom of the bunt pan and topped it with cranberries as well. 

Our feathered friends seemed to love it!

Hanging day

Hanging day

The next day

It unfortunately didn’t make it through the first major rain storm since hanging and is now a “melted” pile of seed in the ground. But still yummy for friends to enjoy. 

Sad empty ribbon

“Melted” seed a week and a half later

destinysspiritualjourney.wordpress.com/

Astrology, Magic, Tarot, and much more!

Goddessing From the Heart

Affirming Trauma Survivors On Their Journey Through Goddess Spirituality

Adventures in Verdance

All things crafty, green and wild...

Dreamcatcher's Journal

A new wiccan's life experiences

Meditating Millennial

A Millennial's Journey Into Meditation and Mindfulness

modernnorseheathen

Come back to your roots... the old gods are calling.

Traci York

Wordsmith. Witch. G33k. Shutterbug.

sinslikescarlet

It will be my mistakes that will build me.

Madra Banrion

Ancestor. Animal. Maiden. Crone.

The Pagan Person

A blog dedicated to the continuously morphing daily life of a modern Pagan.

Hellenic Hearth

Diaries of a Hellenic Polytheist

HappyHooker's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

So It Goes

“It's a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don't keep your feet, there's no knowing where you might be swept off to.” J.R.R. Tolkien

Adventures and Musings of an Arch Druidess

Turning people into toads is usually redundant.

Journeying to the Goddess

Journey with me as I research, rediscover and explore the Goddess in Her many aspects, forms and guises...

Crystal Depths

Living the Pagan Path Day by Day

1 SIGFRIDSSON

ON = TIME

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.