I am woman

Freya and I don’t get along…at least certain aspects of Freya and I don’t get along. 
When I think of Freya, I think of all the energies she is that I am not. She is the counter to the energies of Frigg. She is seen by so many as the goddess of love and beauty and Frigg is completely overlooked. When I did my 30 Days of Frigg is when started to take issue with Freya, because so much information was about Freya and not about Frigg. 

But really, there isn’t that much information on Freya either. At least not when compared to Thor, Loki, Odin…

Historically, Frigg and Freya are both derived from Frija, proto-Germanic goddess. It would seem those following the Aesir interpreted her as Frigg and those following the Vanir interpreted her as Freya. When the clans came together, the two goddesses overlapped again, as they were once one entity. 

What drove me nuts and, frankly, pissed me off, was the idea that Freya was sexy and Frigg is not. Because Frigg is a mom and mom’s aren’t sexy. 

Nope. 

Frigg’s a MOLF. 

Freya uses sex to get what she wants.

Frigg doesn’t use sex, she enjoys it. 

So while I am much more aligned with Frigg, and while I still don’t want to embrace Freya as love/fertility/beauty, I am drawn to her as a warrior. 

That is one aspect Frigg and Freya don’t share. Frigg is strong, but in a different way. She stands up to Allfather when needed. She does all within her power to change the fate of Balder, even though she knew what would ultimately unfold for him. 

I have a temper, and I like to keep my temper in check. This is perhaps another issue I have with Freya. She is War. I cannot channel her for fear of losing my shit and going beserk. 

I feel more comfortable being a wife and mother than being a warrior. 

Most days. 

2 thoughts on “I am woman

  1. Elizabeth Hu-itt says:

    I love this❤️

  2. […] had discussed Frigg and Freya, their similarities and differences quite a bit. Almost to ad […]

Leave your mark

