Archives

All posts for the day March 14th, 2017

Pomp and circumstance

Published March 14, 2017 by Lunapo

I try to be one for elaborate ritual. 

It’s beautiful when someone does it well. I’ve seen ladies use besoms to cast a Circle thrice. I’ve seen a lady and gentleman cast a Circle with a sword, then invoke male and female deities with Atheme and Cup respectively. 

But when I do it, solitarily, it feels silly. 

I’ll light my candles at my altar, speak some meaningful words, and do my workings whether that’s grind herbs or draw cards, or just meditate. Recently, I haven’t even been vocal. 

Raised as a Catholic, I was taught thoughts are just as powerful as words, and that I was to atone for not only my actions and my words, but also my thoughts and feelings. 

So, I know that the intention behind the actions, words, and thoughts have power. I’ve taught this a few times now. Last night, however, I proved it. 

I’ve been on my Pagan path for 11 years. I’ve only been fully working with the Norse Pantheon, and working closely with Frigg since, for the last few months. The majority of my 11 years, I’ve been a spiritual atheist. I’ve been close with the Elements and know that there is a Divine, but I never saw it as more than energy. I never gave them a name. I couldn’t wrap my mind around a persona living in another realm controlling certain aspects. 

Until I began believing that personas living in another realm was controlling certain aspects. It started by acknowledging The Thunderer during storms. 

Last night, wanting to make a connection to Frigg, to dedicate myself to a path in her honor. I lay in bed, before sleep overtook me, and silently spoke to her through my mind’s voice. Some of it I have spoken before, at my altar. Some of it just came. 

Blessed Frigg

Keeper of women, wives, mothers, and children 

Bestower of blessings of conjugal and matronly love

In your honor, I am a strong woman 

In your honor, I am a devoted wife 

In your honor, I am a doting mother

I live my life fulfilling to me while honoring you

I am a big believer in energy portals on the body, chakras of you will. When I am meditating or casting or otherwise connecting, I feel a warning, buzzing, lifting, heightened sensation radiating from the crown of my head. Last night, despite my voice remaining silent, I had this confirmation of a connection, the strongest one I’ve ever had. 

I then slept into the deepest most restful sleep I’ve had in years. 

Crystal Depths

Living the Pagan Path Day by Day

1 SIGFRIDSSON

ON = TIME

A Magical Journey

Capturing the essence of magic, one post at a time

Where Spirit Stops

Everything Happens.

Journey For My Baby

Mommy After Infertility

Our Pantheons Way

A variety of personal musings and occasional lunacy from Troy "Cianaodh Óg" Young.

ROAMIN' GNOMIALS

Empowered by guys in short pants to write whatever I want, whenever I want, for no money whatsoever.

witchlike

Exploring wise-craft and weirdness

benebell wen

author + reader

In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

Little Book, Bell and Chalice

Polyamory, Paganism, Parenting, and Straight up Adulting

Willow and Birch

Homeschooling Through Try-all and Err-or?

Moody Moons

Inspiring a Celebration of the Seasons and the Spirit

Crying Over Pumped Milk

Adventures in motherhood

Journey Through Recovery

Amy McCalister's Journey Through Recovery

Beth Owl's Daughter

Inspiring Enchantment & Illumination with Tarot & Intuitive Guidance

Wings

.. where you'll find a little bit of magic every day ..