Now what? Here’s what

Published November 10, 2016 by Lunapo

I stamped my feet, I cried, I had my temper tantrum. I shared my vulnerability on social media in the morning and my feelings were validated as they were treated as inferior because my feelings belong to the feminine experience. And we are officially the lesser. It was declared two days ago.

This is the post I drafted yesterday over lunch:

I am in a good place, given all that has happened in the last 24 hours.

I am white, cisgendered, straight.

But I am a non-Christian woman.

I cry sorrow for all my fellow Americans who are non-white. I’m sorry.

I cry for all my fellow Americans who are transgender. I’m sorry.

I cry for all my fellow Americans who are not straight. I’m sorry.

I cry for myself, my children, and all my fellow Americans who are non-Christian. I’m sorry.

I cry for myself, my daughter, and all my fellow countrywomen. I’m sorry.

We will band together, we will move forward. We will get past this. We will not let this keep us down. Today is a day for mourning. Let us come together and stand tall. Do not fall trap to the hate. Hate, violence, burning, and anger. Despite losing the first leg of this journey, peace and love will always win.

Image result for peace love om

Today, at least in NC, it is raining. Fitting for the moods of everyone I know. Fitting for the let down we all feel.

As Hubby says, the Republicans can’t get out of their own way in relation to the traditional folks, the evangelicals, and the TEA party. I held onto the hope from all of the sources and all of the polls and all of the in the knows that this could never possibly happen. But it did. I was scared last night, I’m terrified now. I’m keeping my finger in the pulse and I am ready to leave everything behind for the safety of my daughter. I cried this morning at the thought of having to raise her in this environment, at the thought of her elected leader thinking nothing of women. I am ready to run and seek refuge elsewhere as needed. But for the immediate moment, I stand in peaceful protest against the hate that has lead us here.

 Here is some bit of truth that has been circulating.

This has never been about politics.
This is not about one candidate over the other.

It’s not about one’s ideas over another’s.
It is not blue vs. red.
It’s not her emails vs. his bad language.
It’s not her dishonesty vs. his 
indecency.

It’s about overt racism and hostility toward minorities.
It’s about religion being weaponized.
It’s about crassness and vulgarity and disregard for women.
It’s about a barricaded, militarized, bully nation.
It’s about an unapologetic, open-faced ugliness.

I saw the ugliness that has been unleashed on the country, which caused me to fear.

This is from Durham, where I work and play…

Then I saw the elegance and strength that was shared to Facebook by a fellow Magick Circle sister.

…I’ve known that women are not equal to men in this country. I’ve known it due to a lot of personal experiences, but I’ve seen it everywhere, from when I was a child until now. People have told me “women are equal now” over and over again, even though three women are murdered by their male partners every day, and are raped and then blamed for it repeatedly and without question. Last night a self-admitted assaulter of women was elected to our highest office, defeating the most highly qualified candidate I’ve seen in my lifetime who is also a woman. We are not equal. We have never been equal. And now violent abusers of woman just got permission to go about their merry way. It’s time to join the fight ladies. Because if it’s not already at your door, I get the feeling that it’s about to be. #standingstrong#unafraid #samefightdifferentcentury

Last night, I called on my inner shield maiden, and I stood in my kitchen and declared to Hubby that it is not OK. I told him voting is obviously not enough.

Image result for shield maiden

I need to do something about it. I need to stand my ground and I need to pitch in and do my part. I don’t have a plan yet. I’m not there yet. I still have two-ish months to enjoy my president, the first president whom I voted for who became president. The first president who spoke to me about the needs I see in the community around me. I will relish in these last two months. I will do more next time, because just voting was not enough.

Image result for shield maiden captain america

2 comments on “Now what? Here’s what

  • Leave your mark

        HappyHooker's Blog

    Just another WordPress.com weblog

    SKYLARITY

    Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

    So It Goes

    “It's a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don't keep your feet, there's no knowing where you might be swept off to.” J.R.R. Tolkien

    Adventures and Musings of an Arch Druidess

    Turning people into toads is usually redundant.

    Journeying to the Goddess

    Journey with me as I research, rediscover and explore the Goddess in Her many aspects, forms and guises...

    Crystal Depths

    Living the Pagan Path Day by Day

    1 SIGFRIDSSON

    ON = TIME

    The Closet Atheist

    At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

    A Magical Journey

    Capturing the essence of magic, one post at a time

    Where Spirit Stops

    Everything Happens.

    Journey For My Baby

    Mommy After Infertility

    Our Pantheons Way

    A variety of personal musings and occasional lunacy from Troy "Cianaodh Óg" Young.

    ROAMIN' GNOMIALS

    Empowered by guys in short pants to write whatever I want, whenever I want, for no money whatsoever.

    witchlike

    Exploring wise-craft and weirdness

    benebell wen

    author + reader

    In The Desert Of Seth

    By G. B. Marian

    Little Book, Bell and Chalice

    Polyamory, Paganism, Parenting, and Straight up Adulting

    Willow and Birch

    Homeschooling Through Try-all and Err-or?

