New quarter calls

Published September 13, 2016 by Lunapo

This year at Pagan Pride Day (aka the good PPD), I will be leading a workshop on writing Quarter Calls. I will share the information I present on my blog upon completion of the workshop, as I have done every year that I participate in the event. 

Tonight, while meditating, I was inspired to change up my regular nightly Quarter Calls. And I love what they have evolved into. 

Beginning

North

I call upon the Guardians of the North, join my Circle and bring with you the nurturing of the Earth, the flesh of the land to which we all return. Hail and welcome Spirits of Earth. 

East

I call upon the Guardians of the East, join my Circle and bring with you the knowledge carried on the wind, heard in the rustling of the trees, if we only know how to listen. Hail and welcome Spirits of Air. 

South

I call upon the Guardians of the South, join my Circle and bring with you the integrity of the flame, both the creator and the destroyer, human passion showing us both our wild and our tame. Hail and welcome Spirits of Fire. 

West

I call upon the Guardians of the West, join my Circle and bring with you the wisdom found in pure emotion, in every heart beat and every tear drop to feel all that it means to be human. Hail and welcome Spirits of Water. 

Center

I call upon the life essence, the spark found within us all. Join me tonight, unite these four elements and make my Circle complete. Hail and welcome Spirit. 

A few weeks ago, I read a piece about calling deities to a ritual. It made so much sense. 

When we call a deity to join us, we cannot, and should not, be demanding their presence. 

Say you get invited to a party next Saturday. Now, say you don’t much like the host. Or your sister is having family dinner at her house the same night. Your son has his first soccer game. Either way, you can’t make it. The host of the party cannot demand your presence at the gathering. That is not only rude but insulting to your free will. 

The gods also have free will. They can accept or deny your invite because they disagree with your ritual, are busy elsewhere, or just plain don’t want to show up that night. 

I am now taking this into account when I invite, not demand, the presence of my patrons to my Circles. 

Patron

I call to Thor, the Thunderer, keeper of Midgard and the people of Earth. If it’s your will, join my Circle this night. Hail and Welcome!

Patroness 

I call to Lady Frigg, the Allmother, keeper of women, wives, mothers, and children, of hearth and home.  If it’s your will, join my Circle this night. Hail and Welcome!

Ending

Patroness

Lady Frigg, the Allmother, keeper of women, wives, mothers, and children, of hearth and home. If it was your will, thank you for joining me this night. Stay if you will, leave if you must. Hail and farewell!

Patron

Thor, the Theunderer, keeper of Midgard and the people of Earth. If it was your will, thank you for joining me this night. Stay if you will, leave if you much. Hail and farewell!

West

Thank you Water for joining me tonight and for your wisdom that stays with me always. Hail and farewell. Blessed be!

South

Thank you Fire for joining me tonight and for the integrity and passion I carry within my self. Hail and farewell. Blessed be!

East

Thank you Air for joining me tonight and teaching me to listen to the communications of shared in Nature. Hail and farewell. Blessed be!

North

Thank you Earth for joining me to tonight and for always being supportive, both the ground below my feet and the energy sent up from Gaia. Hail and farewell. Blessed be!

Center

Than you Spirit, the life force of all, four uniting these Elements this night and every night. My Cricle is open but never broken. Merry meet, Merry part, and Merry Meet Again. Hail and farewell. Blessed be!

Leave your mark

destinysspiritualjourney.wordpress.com/

Astrology, Magic, Tarot, and much more!

Goddessing From the Heart

Affirming Trauma Survivors On Their Journey Through Goddess Spirituality

Adventures in Verdance

All things crafty, green and wild...

Dreamcatcher's Journal

A new wiccan's life experiences

Meditating Millennial

A Millennial's Journey Into Meditation and Mindfulness

modernnorseheathen

Come back to your roots... the old gods are calling.

Traci York

Wordsmith. Witch. G33k. Shutterbug.

sinslikescarlet

It will be my mistakes that will build me.

Madra Banrion

Ancestor. Animal. Maiden. Crone.

The Pagan Person

A blog dedicated to the continuously morphing daily life of a modern Pagan.

Hellenic Hearth

Diaries of a Hellenic Polytheist

HappyHooker's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

So It Goes

“It's a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don't keep your feet, there's no knowing where you might be swept off to.” J.R.R. Tolkien

Adventures and Musings of an Arch Druidess

Turning people into toads is usually redundant.

Journeying to the Goddess

Journey with me as I research, rediscover and explore the Goddess in Her many aspects, forms and guises...

Crystal Depths

Living the Pagan Path Day by Day

1 SIGFRIDSSON

ON = TIME

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

