Musical Musings: Lullabies

Published March 12, 2016 by Lunapo

I had it all planned out when I was pregnant with Witchlette. I would sing her Tura Lura Lural because I decided that was my favorite lullaby and I wanted it to be Irish.

One day while prepping her nursery, I was listening to Pandora and I heard 1000 years. I sat down and cried with over whelming emotions of just how much that song rang true for me. I died everyday waiting to have her. I loved her before she was here and I will love her for all time. Fate brought her to me and made me her mom and I’ll love her forever.

That became her lullaby. I sang it to her almost every day. Then she started talking and we didn’t need a song anymore. We were having conversations with a back and forth and I didn’t need the musical filler to take up the silence in the room.

It is still a song I sing to her when she doesn’t feel well or is just generally in need of a snuggle. But the singing times were becoming fewer and farther between, especially since her brother’s birth.

My pregnancy with Witchling was much more of a whirlwind. I never stopped to plan a lullaby for him. Which works because I have yet to sing my planned lullaby to Witchlette. But I hadn’t sung to him at all until a few days ago.

A few weeks ago, I was changing his diaper when I had a strange sense of deja vu: I remembered changing a baby who wasn’t Witchlette on a blue changing pad wearing a light green creeper. I remember in my dream feeling this incredibly strong pull towards this baby but I knew it wasn’t Witchlette. I had dreamt of Witchling and everything was meant to happen and good in so many ways. It hadn’t fallen as perfectly  into place as Witchlette did, but it still fell into place.

A few days after my dream, I had the song from Sleeping Beauty, Once Upon A Dream, stuck in my head and I knew that was his lullaby. I know him, I dreamt of him before he was conceived. Things may not be as easy as they seem or as easy as they could be, but I love my boy and he loves his mama, just like in my dream.

This afternoon I found both songs on Prime radio and played them and sang them to the kids. Witchlette really liked hearing hers again and wants to hear it more often. I admittedly haven’t sang to her much since my second trimester with Witchling. And Witchling is captivated by his lullaby.

Because music is the language of the soul. 

Leave your mark

Coffee with a Historian

Thoughts,Figures,Events,

Heathen Embers

A Heathen perspective in a modern world

mainer74

Heathenism, Asatru, and the daily grind.

destinysspiritualjourney.wordpress.com/

Astrology, Magic, Tarot, and much more!

Goddessing From the Heart

Affirming Trauma Survivors On Their Journey Through Goddess Spirituality

Adventures in Verdance

All things crafty, green and wild...

Dreamcatcher's Journal

A new wiccan's life experiences

Meditating Millennial

A Millennial's Journey Into Meditation and Mindfulness

modernnorseheathen

Come back to your roots... the old gods are calling.

Traci York

Wordsmith. Witch. G33k. Shutterbug.

sinslikescarlet

It will be my mistakes that will build me.

Madra Banrion

Ancestor. Animal. Maiden. Crone.

The Pagan Person

A blog dedicated to the continuously morphing daily life of a modern Pagan.

Hellenic Hearth

Diaries of a Hellenic Polytheist

HappyHooker's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

So It Goes

“It's a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don't keep your feet, there's no knowing where you might be swept off to.” J.R.R. Tolkien

Adventures and Musings of an Arch Druidess

Turning people into toads is usually redundant.

Journeying to the Goddess

Journey with me as I research, rediscover and explore the Goddess in Her many aspects, forms and guises...

Crystal Depths

Living the Pagan Path Day by Day

