Gratitude month: day 18

Published November 18, 2015 by Lunapo

The best and the light. 

I’ve always been a worrier. It got worse when I was going through surgery and treatment to conceive the baby who would become my Witchlette. It got much better once she was here. It practically faded away. Because I worked at it. I found a mantra and I spent weeks meditating in it. I internalized it, made it a part of my story. I focused on the best and the light. 

  

Worry came back harder and stronger with Witchling. This hit a peak earlier this week when I broke down (triggered by laundry undone) and sobbed over “failing” because I set my own bar so high with Witchlette. 15 months of nursing. Witchlette slept through the night before I went back to work so I was able to pump and store a spare feeding from the get-go and have a lot of milk to get her through the school year. Pumping at work wasn’t as productive as overnight because I have a great supply thanks to sleep hormones and I can’t nap at work (which is a crime if you as me! lol). Witchling is now the same age as Witchlette when she started sleeping through the night and he’s not there yet. I don’t expect him to be. Witchlette was a natural wonder she started so young. But I’m not pumping as much overnight. And what if we have to supplement. Because for me, that’s failing. Not because formula is failing but because I set a bar so high for myself. Because for me, anything less than what I was able to give Witchlette is me failing Witchling.

After my breakdown, I sat quietly and had a thought pop into my head. It grew into an acrostic poem that I now have taped to my bathroom mirror. 

Worthless
Obsession
Relentlessly 
Ruining
You

Since that moment, I’ve been able to focus on the best and the light. Because I don’t want to attract what I don’t want. I want to attract the best and the light. 

  

Leave your mark

HappyHooker's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

So It Goes

“It's a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don't keep your feet, there's no knowing where you might be swept off to.” J.R.R. Tolkien

Adventures and Musings of an Arch Druidess

Turning people into toads is usually redundant.

Journeying to the Goddess

Journey with me as I research, rediscover and explore the Goddess in Her many aspects, forms and guises...

Crystal Depths

Living the Pagan Path Day by Day

1 SIGFRIDSSON

ON = TIME

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

A Magical Journey

Capturing the essence of magic, one post at a time

Where Spirit Stops

Everything Happens.

Journey For My Baby

Mommy After Infertility

Our Pantheons Way

A variety of personal musings and occasional lunacy from Troy "Cianaodh Óg" Young.

ROAMIN' GNOMIALS

Empowered by guys in short pants to write whatever I want, whenever I want, for no money whatsoever.

witchlike

Exploring wise-craft and weirdness

benebell wen

author + reader

In The Desert Of Seth

By G. B. Marian

Little Book, Bell and Chalice

Polyamory, Paganism, Parenting, and Straight up Adulting

Willow and Birch

Homeschooling Through Try-all and Err-or?

