Standing Up For What You Believe

Published April 28, 2013 by Lunapo

A great deal of wisdom and truth can be found in the following post, from Stone of Destiny.

Likewise, Domestic Witch turned my eye to the following article on Patheos.

The point in both articles, in my opinion, is one in the same, though they arrive at these points through different measures. The former is a challenge to stand up for what you believe in, 100%. To lay the brick work for ourselves and future Pagans to practice in peace without fear of their safety, whether it be physical, financial, emotional, psychological… The latter is similarly about standing up for what we each individually believe, but while doing so to respect the practices of others. Granted, there is more to it than that, as it goes off on a tangent to explain why Pagan is too broad a term and too many Pagans use Wicca but don’t use it to the author’s liking and therefore are “watering it down”…but the core essential of the article as I read it is about truly believing what you believe in.

Going back to the former, there is reference to International Pagan Coming Out day. It still bothers me that anyone needs to “come out”, for fear of backlash from those around them. I want to be 100% open with everyone in my life, but I am not only thinking of myself when I am not. I am thinking of my daughter, and how I must, especially given my residence in the Biblebelt, protect her from any hurtful backlash that may come her way.


I do believe I will wear my pentacle necklace to work on 5/2, to test the waters.


One comment on “Standing Up For What You Believe

  • Thank you for the reblog! I totally understand the impulse, one that I think we all share, to protect our loved ones. The balance of that (and something I had intended to mention in my post, but never got around to) is the question: “What are we teaching them by hiding?” I think of all the groups who have had to fight for their rights and could not hide what they were (women, racial minorities) and the thought of hunkering down and allowing folks to just assume that I am what they want me to be just does not sit well.

    Good luck with wearing your pentacle at work!

  • Leave your mark

        Beth Owl's Daughter

    Practical Wisdom for Extraordinary Living


    .. where you'll find a little bit of magic every day ..

    Biblebelt Witchy Mama

    Life and Times of a North Carolina Pagan Parent

    Adventures and Musings of an Arch Druidess

    Turning people into toads is usually redundant.

    The Mama Witches

    spells, charms, and incantations for parents and children

    Broomsticks & Cauldrons

    A magickal journey to the Goddess

    Adventures of a Barefoot Mama

    Natural and Pagan parenting on the Isle of Avalon

    Beyond The "I" Word

    Pregnancy and Parenting After Infertility

    Temple Of The Standing Stones

    Forging A New Pagan Path!

    Sabbats and Sabbaths

    Exploring the Connections Between Pagan and Christian Spirituality

    Loki's Little Hippie Witch

    The journey of a jotun-souled hippie Lokean

    bay witch musings

    thoughts on parenting, paganism, science, books, witchcraft, nature, feminism, unitarian universalism, herbalism, cooking, conservation, crafting, the state of humanity, and life by the sea

    I made a thing

    Learning to balance my life as a witch and a mom, this should be interesting.

    Funky Wolf Cafe

    Serving the unique needs of the more Funky Luxury market with quality products to make shopaholics and trend setters standout among the crowd.


    Wiccan and Pagan information


    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 391 other followers

