Blessing

Published January 18, 2013 by Lunapo

I love the rituals that invite a new baby into a community. I have been witness to many Christenings and I have read a lot about rituals involving a baby in the Jewish, Muslim, Buddhist, and Hindi traditions. Before I fell pregnant, I started researching what my options are for a ceremony to welcome my child(ren) into the world. I like to idea of naming ceremonies, because, like our wedding ceremony, they can be largely secular.

The ceremony that I am devising currently will have a heavy Pagan influence, but it will call only on the Elements, not on any specific deity. I prefer this because I feel the relationship between deity and mortal is extremely personal and I do not want to interfere with my child’s preferences later as an adult. I would rather open the door to the Magickal world. I want to teach this child directly about the Elements and about Magickal properties. I want them to know their Celtic, Germanic, and Nordic heritage.

We have already chosen four Elemental Guardians; each one’s personality represents the Element for which they will be Blessing the baby. Hubby’s cousin and his wife are Fire and Water. My best friend from high school and best friend from middle school (who married a few years ago) are Earth and Air.

Hubby, baby and I will be standing in the middle of the EG’s, who will be in a Circle. Any family/friends in attendance will be in a larger Circle around the EG’s. I’m going to begin by calling the Quarters and lighting a candle next to each Guardian; I cast my Circles starting with North. Each Guardian, again starting with Earth, will read a few lines about the physical properties of the Element, a few lines about the metaphysical properties of the Element, and how the Element relates to the human body. While they do that, they will each pass a physical representation of the Element over the baby. Then, they will say a few words about their hopes and wishes for the baby.

4 comments on “Blessing

  • I love the idea of doing a baby Blessing, have you thought about/done any Mother Blessings since you’ve been pregnant.

    Also, I’m curious, have you looked into any of the Pagan Pregnancy books that are out there? If so, would you recommend any of them?

    • I never thought of a Mother Blessing, tho that is a fine idea and now that it’s in my head, I’ll have to do one. I haven’t seen any Pagan specific books, though I know they’re out there, I have access to natural/metaphysical pregnancy books.

      If one is into meditation and chakra work, I would recommend Communing with the Spirit of your Unborn Child by Dawson Church. I am also a fan of The Bradley Method, which to me seems more common sense that anything else…but that maybe because I already have that mindset.

    • Thank you. I feel the individual’s divine connection is often ignored. For instance, I wasn’t given a choice as a child and when I was old enough to make my own decision, my parents were unhappy that my decision wasn’t their decision for me. I want her to grow up knowing that whatever path she chooses, she will be loved.

  • Leave your mark

        Crystal Depths

    Living the Pagan Path Day by Day

    1 SIGFRIDSSON

    ON = TIME

    A Magical Journey

    Capturing the essence of magic, one post at a time

    Where Spirit Stops

    Everything Happens.

    Journey For My Baby

    Mommy After Infertility

    Our Pantheons Way

    A variety of personal musings and occasional lunacy from Troy "Cianaodh Óg" Young.

    ROAMIN' GNOMIALS

    Empowered by guys in short pants to write whatever I want, whenever I want, for no money whatsoever.

    witchlike

    Exploring wise-craft and weirdness

    benebell wen

    author + reader

    In The Desert Of Seth

    By G. B. Marian

    Little Book, Bell and Chalice

    Polyamory, Paganism, Parenting, and Straight up Adulting

    Willow and Birch

    Homeschooling Through Try-all and Err-or?

    Moody Moons

    Inspiring a Celebration of the Seasons and the Spirit

    Crying Over Pumped Milk

    Adventures in motherhood

    Journey Through Recovery

    Amy McCalister's Journey Through Recovery

    Beth Owl's Daughter

    Inspiring Enchantment & Illumination with Tarot & Intuitive Guidance

    Wings

    .. where you'll find a little bit of magic every day ..

