Wicca

Published November 9, 2012 by Lunapo

When I saw “W” was the next letter for PBP, I thought wouldn’t it be neat to do some exploration about Wicca. Many may try to put me into that category, because I am a practicing Witch, and they don’t see the difference.

Think of it this way: not every dealership sells cars and not every car sale happens at a dealership. Some dealerships sell boats, motorcycles, RVs, etc. People sell their cars through car trader or Craigslist.

Not every Wiccan is a Witch and not every Witch is a Wiccan.

“Wicca is a deep appreciation and awe in watching the sunrise or sunset, the forest in the light of a glowing moon, a meadow enchanted by the first light of day. It is the morning dew on the petals of a beautiful flower, the gentle caress of a warm summer breeze upon your skin, or the warmth of the summer sun on your face. Wicca is the fall of colorful autumn leaves, and the softness of winter snow. It is light, and shadow and all that lies in between. It is the song of the birds and other creatures of the wild. It is being in the presence of Mother Earths nature and being humbled in reverence. When we are in the temple of the Lord and Lady, we are not prone to the arrogance of human technology as they touch our souls. To be a Witch is to be a healer, a teacher, a seeker, a giver, and a protector of all things. If this path is yours, may you walk it with honor, light and integrity.” ~ http://wicca.com/celtic/wicca/wicca.htm

Ok, I fall under most of that. Especially this healer/teacher/seeker part.

The article goes on to discuss the animist beliefs that many Wiccans hold, following the cycles of the Sun, Moon, and the Seasons, and the reverence for the Elements.

Check, check, and check.

This article also mentions revering one Hunter God and one Fertility Goddess. Back in the original foundings, eating and procreating were of vital importance and much harder than it is today. Likewise, I’ve spoken with many Wiccans who have a patron Goddess and God, it’s usually the same as that of the coven.

This is where I begin to differ. There are a number of deities whom I feel comfortable working with depending on the situation.

The preface of the article sums it up best: “The article below describes how Wicca draws from the Old Traditions of Witchcraft. While this is true, we would simply like to clarify that Witchcraft and Wicca, while simular in many respects, are not the same. One can be a Witch, without being a Wiccan, just as a person can be a Christian, without being a Baptist. Wicca is a recognized religion, while Witchcraft itself is not considered a religion. Thus, Wicca might best be described as a modern religion, based on ancient Witchcraft traditions.”

I follow the Wheel of the Year, I quote the Rede, I celebrate Esbats, I wear a Pentacle. But I do it all in my way on my own. I do not belong to a Coven; I do not have a High Priestess; I do not follow rules of any one book; I didn’t study a year and a day before beginning to practice (it was really more like three years before I was comfortable enough to start).

I am a Solitary Witch who has many of the same principals as Wicca, who pulls from a few different belief systems and makes them her own.

I can not insult the belief system by claiming to be part of it, especially when I had to research to find all the similarities six years into my journey.

6 comments on “Wicca

  • I’m glad you put in this propesective cause some articles I read do not make that very clear. Me myself I consider myself a wiccan at heart but not a witch.

  • Leave your mark

        HappyHooker's Blog

    Just another WordPress.com weblog

    SKYLARITY

    Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

    So It Goes

    β€œIt's a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don't keep your feet, there's no knowing where you might be swept off to.” J.R.R. Tolkien

    Adventures and Musings of an Arch Druidess

    Turning people into toads is usually redundant.

    Journeying to the Goddess

    Journey with me as I research, rediscover and explore the Goddess in Her many aspects, forms and guises...

    Crystal Depths

    Living the Pagan Path Day by Day

    1 SIGFRIDSSON

    ON = TIME

    The Closet Atheist

    At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

    A Magical Journey

    Capturing the essence of magic, one post at a time

    Where Spirit Stops

    Everything Happens.

    Journey For My Baby

    Mommy After Infertility

    Our Pantheons Way

    A variety of personal musings and occasional lunacy from Troy "Cianaodh Γ“g" Young.

    ROAMIN' GNOMIALS

    Empowered by guys in short pants to write whatever I want, whenever I want, for no money whatsoever.

    witchlike

    Exploring wise-craft and weirdness

    benebell wen

    author + reader

    In The Desert Of Seth

    By G. B. Marian

    Little Book, Bell and Chalice

    Polyamory, Paganism, Parenting, and Straight up Adulting

    Willow and Birch

    Homeschooling Through Try-all and Err-or?

