Crossroads

Published May 22, 2012 by Lunapo

One of the first groups I joined (and then left because we are in different stages of life…) was a metaphysical group in Raleigh. June 2009 was one of the first gatherings I attended. All good people bringing a lot of different skills to the table. A lot was discussed with the upcoming end of the Mayan calendar. I’m sure they are still discussing it. What does it mean? What change will take place? Some think it will be an end of days for all; some think it will be for those who do not open their mind/heart to Jesus, Love, the Universe, Peace, etc. Those that have been opened and are opening will continue to live, those that do not will perish. They will just fall lifeless to the ground and their essence will drift into the ether. Others thought those who are opened will ascend to a new world while those who have not opened will be here waiting for the next chance, continuing to learn their lessons, continuing to learn how to love one another until the time comes when they get a second chance. One woman claims this happened once before in Atlantis and all perished because none were ready.

I keep the date in the back of my mind, not for counting down until the end of days. Watching the world around me, seeing how it acts and reacts, waiting to see what will happen next. I do think something big is going to happen. I do think something is coming.

Saturday morning, I read Lucius’ post (and Mystical Bewilderment’s one too) about coming changes and what they mean, specifically for Heathens. Both have noticed the Gods of old calling to people across pantheons. Lucian called it a Call to Arms, like a coming war. Which it may be.

In an earlier post, I described how I got to where I am today. I began with Celtic paganism, since I am 1/4 Irish, and this is the lineage to which I subscribe the most. (Truly, I am American with at least 7 lineages in my family history). Then I tried Cherokee Medicine. While I continue to practice many of the Medicine ways, I do not feel comfortable calling myself a follower of a Native pantheon. Through all of my growing and learning, I keep getting called to the Norse. I feel a strong pull towards them, both in my heritage (1/4 German and 1/8 Swedish, plus 1/8 English and the 1/4 Irish…historical evidence of the Norn can be found all over Northern Europe…) and in my Spiritual practices.

After reading those posts, I think it makes sense why the Aesir keep calling to me. They know I will fight to the end for what I feel is right. They know I am a trained warrior (with blade and bullet). I have read and re-read the best modern form of the Edda’s I have found to date.

Picture

Yet, I don’t feel right calling myself a Heathen either. I don’t practice quite the way that a Heathen would. I focus a lot on the elements and less on the deities; I focus a lot on kitchen witchery; I focus a lot on the Earth and conservationism. But the only deities I have ever been comfortable opening up to and expressing either mentally or vocally are mine (Sun, Sky, Earth, Moon) or the Norse, especially Heimdal.

Instead of going against the calling, because it doesn’t “fit” what I tend to do, I’m going to embrace the calling.

After all, one size does not fit all.

Brightest Blessings,

Lunapo )O(

4 comments on “Crossroads

  • Leave your mark

        Coffee with a Historian

    Thoughts,Figures,Events,

    Heathen Embers

    A Heathen perspective in a modern world

    mainer74

    Heathenism, Asatru, and the daily grind.

    destinysspiritualjourney.wordpress.com/

    Astrology, Magic, Tarot, and much more!

    Goddessing From the Heart

    Affirming Trauma Survivors On Their Journey Through Goddess Spirituality

    Adventures in Verdance

    All things crafty, green and wild...

    Dreamcatcher's Journal

    A new wiccan's life experiences

    Meditating Millennial

    A Millennial's Journey Into Meditation and Mindfulness

    modernnorseheathen

    Come back to your roots... the old gods are calling.

    Traci York

    Wordsmith. Witch. G33k. Shutterbug.

    sinslikescarlet

    It will be my mistakes that will build me.

    Madra Banrion

    Ancestor. Animal. Maiden. Crone.

    The Pagan Person

    A blog dedicated to the continuously morphing daily life of a modern Pagan.

    Hellenic Hearth

    Diaries of a Hellenic Polytheist

    HappyHooker's Blog

    Just another WordPress.com weblog

    SKYLARITY

    Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

    So It Goes

    “It's a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don't keep your feet, there's no knowing where you might be swept off to.” J.R.R. Tolkien

    Adventures and Musings of an Arch Druidess

    Turning people into toads is usually redundant.

    Journeying to the Goddess

    Journey with me as I research, rediscover and explore the Goddess in Her many aspects, forms and guises...

    Crystal Depths

    Living the Pagan Path Day by Day

